Author Topic: Website for Consolidated News and Information about keyboards?  (Read 3437 times)

Offline tydlwav

Hey, I'm kind of new to the keyboard hobby. What I discovered is that getting into the hobby takes considerable effort going over massdrop, gh, reddit and other places to scour information. There's so much crazy but really interesting and fun aspects about this hobby: building, modding, collecting, designing, artisans, DIY etc. But they are all scattered around different sites and are hard to come by for newer members of the hobby. Also, to the decentralized nature of the community, it gets really hard to get quick updates on all the exciting new group buys and discussions in the community.

As an example, I participated in the nutcracker v2 gb, and didn't hear from them until yesterday. To their credit, they kept people updated on their discord server. But man, a discord server for updates? I'm not buying into it.

I sincerely hope that there are some central information hub that can be easily searched, and easy to skim through. This will prevent me from spending an hour or more looking through forum posts only to keep myself up to date on what's happening in the community.

I find the "this week in keyboard" series by @manofinterest on his YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLmAXoFcs-o_jd-LirQMi3qPekzj6hW0Go very helpful, but that's in video format, and he only updates every week. I'm looking to making a website version of that. I hope we can curate some contents for the main page, and leave space for community members to post links and summaries of things they think is valuable for others to read. I want to break things into categories like cases, pcbs, keycaps, modding, gb updates etc for easy navigation and searching.

This is obviously a very immature idea, but I'm interested whether anybody has similar opinions. I'm curious how you guys get your dose of keyboard news every day.