Author Topic: Keyboard rec for a writer  (Read 2624 times)

Offline grapefruit

Keyboard rec for a writer
« on: Tue, 23 July 2019, 17:04:02 »
I'm a writer, and I need a keyboard recommendation.

Right now I have a Coolermaster keyboard with Cherry MX Blues and am not a fan. It feels like I never quite know how much effort I need to put in to press the keys; I'm always putting in too little or too much. I've used it for years, and it still feels awkward.

I'm a faster and more accurate typist, frankly, on the keyboard on my 2015 Macbook Pro.

As far as the sound of the Coolermaster, it's fine. Not amazing, but ok.

I remember having enjoyed buckling spring keyboards 20 years ago... probably some IBM variant. I enjoyed it, but I don't want that again. I think the keys may have been a little too loud and high-pitched.

I'd like something with satisfying 'thunk,' and that would be easy to press and keep my accuracy as a typist.

Also, arrow keys are a MUST. EDIT: I also need home, end, and page-up/page-down keys.

Any specific brand/model recommendations? I don't want to really modify keyboards and such. Thanks.
« Last Edit: Tue, 23 July 2019, 18:56:30 by grapefruit »

Offline sncbraxsc2

• ⭐Domesticated Dweeb⭐
Re: Keyboard rec for a writer
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 23 July 2019, 17:09:00 »
perhaps matias quiet click like the Tactile Pro or KBP v80 if you are not looking to go full custom

Offline Dongulator

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 23 July 2019, 17:22:54 »
Leopold fc660c. It's pretty quiet, has a nice 'thunk' and has an arrow cluster.

Offline sncbraxsc2

• ⭐Domesticated Dweeb⭐
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 23 July 2019, 17:31:57 »

^^^ even better

Offline grapefruit

« Reply #4 on: Tue, 23 July 2019, 18:56:07 »

Whoops. I also realized that I DO use home/end and page-up/page-down keys too! Shoot. Amended my OP.

Is there a version of this that has those, or else a good alternative?
« Last Edit: Tue, 23 July 2019, 18:58:33 by grapefruit »

Offline romevi

• Formerly romevi