Author Topic: The Ultimate Alice Quest (I need help)  (Read 1053 times)

Offline BareSphereMass

The Ultimate Alice Quest (I need help)
« on: Tue, 28 January 2020, 01:16:25 »

I want to make the ultimate TGR Alice clone.  Hot Swap MX sockets, per-key RGB, underglow RGB, USB-C, maybe a rotary encoder, and maybe one of those mini OLED screens.

In order to accomplish this I started Learning KiCad and I downloaded FreeCAD.  I soon learned how hard making a good PCB can get.  If I could make a simple one that attaches to an existing Atmega32u4 (like the Elite-C) then making the PCB would be much simpler.  I would only have to make a PCB that lined up with existing cases and then attach it to the Elite-C.

Questions
Q#1.  What are the lined up and labled holes called, I cant find it in KiCad.  (see photos)
A#1.  They are called foot prints.
Q#2.  How do people line up their KiCad PCBís with their FreeCAD (or other CAD program) file.  How do you get screw holes and MX sockets to perfectly match?
Q#3.  Do you know of a good guide on how to wire up per key RGB LEDís?

What I have:
1.  Case files for a stacked case (.FCStd) (I think laser cutters will accept this)
2.  The .lib file for MX switches
3.  The .kicad_mod file for Kailh hot swap socket
4.  The .kicad_mod file for the diodes
5.  The .kicad_mod file for the Elite-C footprint

What I need:
1.  A wiring diagram that shows how to integrate per key LEDís into the matrix
2.  The .lib and .kicad_mod files for the mini OLED footprint
3.  Knowledge about how to line up the MX sockets and screw holes correctly in KiCad

https://imgur.com/gallery/sFcPPiz
« Last Edit: Tue, 28 January 2020, 03:05:09 by BareSphereMass »
                I will fix the scale issues later... LOL    (Atreus 42 (hand wired), Anne Pro 2)

Offline piit79

Re: The Ultimate Alice Quest (I need help)
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 28 January 2020, 02:01:05 »