Author Topic: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu  (Read 760 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brohothepirate

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 15
Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« on: Sat, 16 May 2020, 21:54:36 »
Accidentally chose wrong file, flashed and now none of the keys register (checked with tester)

What can I do from here? Kb shows up as M10-b in Windows.

Offline suicidal_orange

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3729
  • Location: England
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 03:53:50 »
If it's still showing up as a keyboard it's just using the wrong pins for the switches.  Flash the correct firmware and it will work again :)
                               
Ducky Zero, MX Reds    JD40, Jailhouse Blues           GH60
Soarer controller

Offline brohothepirate

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 15
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 04:26:51 »
If it's still showing up as a keyboard it's just using the wrong pins for the switches.  Flash the correct firmware and it will work again :)

Right, I just can't put it into bootloader mode (ESC) since the M-10B literally mapped no keys onto the whole board, which is required for QMK Toolbox to recognize it as a device which is required for me to flash it. Right?

Offline suicidal_orange

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3729
  • Location: England
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 05:51:07 »
If you just need to press Esc I'll have a look at the firmwares and work out where to poke and get back to you.

Edit:  It thinks it's a numberpad?!  Nice...
« Last Edit: Sun, 17 May 2020, 05:58:00 by suicidal_orange »
                               
Ducky Zero, MX Reds    JD40, Jailhouse Blues           GH60
Soarer controller

Offline typischt

  • Posts: 262
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 06:09:05 »
If Im not mistaken, there is a hardware reset switch, maybe you could try that:

Offline suicidal_orange

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3729
  • Location: England
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #5 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 06:36:44 »
Sadly it's a Koyu PCB that thinks it's an M10-b and there's no reset button from what I can see.

From reading comments on Drop about the M10-b it seems it uses the standard Atmel Mega32u4, and if that firmware loads on the Koyu it must too.  Assuming you can see this written on the square chip broho you'll need to short pin 13 to ground to get to bootloader mode - note the dot which shows where the numbers start. 
242766-0

The pins are tiny so I suggest you hold something big and conductive (scissors?) touching ground (pin 23) with your weaker hand while carefully poking reset with something sharp (a sewing needle?) and touching the other end to the big conductive thing.  Or if you have a piece of thin single core wire that would be easier.

If the chip says something else don't do this!
                               
Ducky Zero, MX Reds    JD40, Jailhouse Blues           GH60
Soarer controller

Offline brohothepirate

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 15
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #6 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 07:40:52 »
Sadly it's a Koyu PCB that thinks it's an M10-b and there's no reset button from what I can see.

From reading comments on Drop about the M10-b it seems it uses the standard Atmel Mega32u4, and if that firmware loads on the Koyu it must too.  Assuming you can see this written on the square chip broho you'll need to short pin 13 to ground to get to bootloader mode - note the dot which shows where the numbers start. 
(Attachment Link)

The pins are tiny so I suggest you hold something big and conductive (scissors?) touching ground (pin 23) with your weaker hand while carefully poking reset with something sharp (a sewing needle?) and touching the other end to the big conductive thing.  Or if you have a piece of thin single core wire that would be easier.

If the chip says something else don't do this!

Thanks, it says Atmel Mega32u4 so I'll give it a try when my tweezers come. I take it the pcb doesn't have to be unplugged when I reset this? Or rather, it SHOULD be plugged in when I try this?

Offline suicidal_orange

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3729
  • Location: England
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #7 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 12:29:38 »
Yes it needs to be plugged in, it's a hardware way of getting to bootloader mode.  The button on the M10-b or a Teensy just connects those pins in an easier and safer way.

Connecting 5v to ground could kill the chip so don't slip if you're planning to tweeze pin 13 to 15.

Good luck!
                               
Ducky Zero, MX Reds    JD40, Jailhouse Blues           GH60
Soarer controller

Offline brohothepirate

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 15
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #8 on: Sun, 17 May 2020, 16:31:24 »
Yes it needs to be plugged in, it's a hardware way of getting to bootloader mode.  The button on the M10-b or a Teensy just connects those pins in an easier and safer way.

Connecting 5v to ground could kill the chip so don't slip if you're planning to tweeze pin 13 to 15.

Good luck!

Great news, I opened the case and there was a yellow button on the back and RAMA support said it was a reset, so that works. It's now stuck on being a ATm32U4DFU device even after flashing.

*** Attempting to flash, please don't remove device
>>> dfu-programmer.exe atmega32u4 erase --force
    Erasing flash...  Success
    Checking memory from 0x0 to 0x6FFF...  Empty.
>>> dfu-programmer.exe atmega32u4 flash "D:\Chrome Downloads\wilba_tech_rama_works_koyu_default_845aeee0.hex"
    Checking memory from 0x0 to 0x55FF...  Empty.
>>> dfu-programmer.exe atmega32u4 reset
    0%                            100%  Programming 0x5600 bytes...
    [>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>]  Success
    0%                            100%  Reading 0x7000 bytes...
    [>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>]  Success
    Validating...  Success
    0x5600 bytes written into 0x7000 bytes memory (76.79%).
*** DFU device disconnected: Atmel Corp. ATm32U4DFU (03EB:2FF4:0000)

But still shows up as ATm32U4DFU in device manager. Still a step forward lol.

Offline typo

  • Posts: 1525
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #9 on: Mon, 18 May 2020, 23:33:14 »
I did just this! Bricked mine for good! Better luck to you!

Offline brohothepirate

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 15
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #10 on: Tue, 19 May 2020, 12:30:45 »
I did just this! Bricked mine for good! Better luck to you!

Actually the PCB has a yellow reset button on the back, open her up and reset.

Offline typo

  • Posts: 1525
Re: Flashed Rama M10-b qmk profile onto Koyu
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 20 May 2020, 08:36:54 »
OMG! You are the man! Just saved my life! Thank you so much! You are not the bro you are the Lord!