Author Topic: Information about the M13s  (Read 1579 times)

Offline Casenard

Information about the M13s
« on: Sat, 17 July 2010, 22:50:18 »
Hey guys. I'm new here, and I was looking for some information on an M13 I acquired the other day.

I just recently became interested in mechanical keyboards after reading about them on another forum a few weeks ago. It was there that I first heard of the Model M. I was looking to get a Filco Otaku, since I don't know how to touchtype yet. I've been trying to force myself to learn for years, I thought that would be a good way to finally do it. It's embarrassing, I've been working with computers since I was 9, and I've been programming since I was 16, yet I still can't touchtype.

Anyway, I work in IT, and was in the back with all our old computer equipment. Guess what I found under a stack of old cheapo Dell keyboards? A dusty black M13. I asked the CIO about it, and he said I could have it. I cleaned it up, and apart from the dust, there's nothing else wrong with it. No scratches or scuffs or anything. It works like a charm too, they weren't lying when they said these thing were built like tanks. Typing on it feels really good, I can't wait until I can learn to touchtype on it.

I can't find much info on the M13s at all. I saw the section in the IBM wiki here, and read about them on clickykeyboards.com, that's about it. How uncommon are these? Are there blank replacement keys available for it anywhere? I'm not planning on selling it, but how much do these things usually sell for? Any information about this keyboard would be greatly appreciated.

I don't have a camera, only my Blackberry, so pardon the image quality. I couldn't get a picture of the back to come out not blurry, so here's the info from the sticker on the back.

Part No. 13H6705
Fru No. 13H6705
ID No. 0013601
Date 12/26/95

Plt. No. L1 Model M13

Offline mcdonc

« Reply #1 on: Sat, 17 July 2010, 23:04:03 »