Author Topic: Best RGB MX Browns Board Under $250  (Read 2609 times)

Offline Intex

Best RGB MX Browns Board Under $250
« on: Fri, 11 December 2020, 15:08:04 »
I am in the market for a new board with the following requirements:
- Full size (must have num pad. no TKL)
- Literally any kind of backlighting will do
- MX Brown switches
- under $250.

I am currently leaning toward the Ducky One 2, but I have heard that Ducky started using Razer switches in the Ducky Shine 7: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=96003.0  Does anyone know if this is also the case for the Ducky One 2?

It has been difficult for me to find many details on the Ducky one 2 on geekhack, and am wondering if anyone has anything negative/positive to say about it.

Also, I want to see what other options I have that meet my requirements? Perhaps an older ducky model or something else? Post your recommendations Geekhack!

I have been using an original Das Model S Professional since 2011 and it has been great, but a couple of the keys are finally starting to give me some issues.

Offline bkrownd

Re: Best RGB MX Browns Board Under $250
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 11 December 2020, 15:45:32 »

If you look at the listings for Ducky One 2 on mechanicalkeyboards.com what info is missing that you need to know? 

Offline Riverman

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 11 December 2020, 16:52:22 »
The One 2 still uses Cherry switches.  I can't image that they'd use Razer switches in anything but a special model built for Razer.  If you really need backlit keys, one of Ducky's keyboards is probably your best bang for the buck for a full-sized MX brown backlit keyboard.  They're well-built and come with PBT keycaps that you won't feel the need to replace right away.  You should also look at the IKBC MF108, if you can find one.  It's a beast of a keyboard, and still well under your budget.  Das Keyboard also makes a couple of decent backlit models.  The Prime 13 has always seemed like a good choice, but has ABS keycaps.

Offline bkrownd