Author Topic: Help me build a 1800 layout keyboard (noob inside)  (Read 6197 times)

Offline SNG91

Help me build a 1800 layout keyboard (noob inside)
« on: Sun, 17 January 2021, 13:58:44 »
Hello guys,

After several unsusccessfull attempts over at /r/mk, I finally decided to try my luck on geekhack. So first of all let me tell you im not deep in the rabbit hole (yet).
Im still a noob, so if you have usggestions like just copy that PCB or something I need advisory on how to that stuff, since im fairly sure it will come up.

So my favorite board which I discovered over at /r/mk is the 1800 layout board, however for an ISO user, the available ressources are basically non-existent.
A perfect fit would be for example the KBD19X in ISO format. ( https://kbdfans.com/products/pre-orderkbdfans-kbd19x-90-mechanical-keyboard-diy-kit )
Sadly it is out of stock since close to almost a year now.  I have read several times just copy the PCB from geekhack or something along the lines.
I have NEVER ever done that, the farthest im in the MK game is that I have lubed my switches and put film into them PLUS I did some dielectric grease on my stabs. thats it.
So you have to hold my hand  or basically ELI5.  For example this is not okay ( https://d2zs7efolu1fdi.cloudfront.net/images/29/f2/49/a3/29f249a3b7651855375e476f30455416.jpg?d=400x400 ) there is no
space between the numbpad and the "top line" of keys. this is too cluttered for me. So I do not want a compact 1800 layout baord. As mentioned before the KBD19x would be the right thing would it actually be available ever.

So now to my questions: I have read a lot here that I can just print out my own PCB somehow. Also a case and basically all parts. Since there is no upcming GB (Zambumon SAR is ANSI only) I have decided
to take things into my own hands and just do it. whatever it takes at this point. (and yes I DO need the F-row in seperate keys)