Author Topic: Where do I even start?  (Read 1348 times)

Offline Arrbjorn

Where do I even start?
« on: Thu, 21 January 2021, 09:37:59 »
What's up? I'm a dev from Dallas, Tx and I'm 100% fed up with expensive pre-built mechanical keyboard that don't live up to their reputation. So I've been trying to learn about building custom mechanicals, but I'm having a hard time finding anything actually up for sale. I take it like 90% of items are sold during group buys? Just trying to figure stuff out.

So far I've gone through a DAS Keyboard and a Ducky. The DAS still works, but the keycaps are horribly worn and it's clunky/plasticy as hell. The Ducky is a lot more solid, and the keycaps are looking good because I made sure to get the doubleshot PBT caps, but it's dropped F and the numpad 2 for some reason. If I push them enough times they'll work eventually, but not really sure what to do to fix them and not sure it's worth the effort if the switches are just going to keep going out.

What I want to build:

A keyboard with a solid heavy base, zero clunk, and some heavyweight switches (I type really heavily). I'd like a minimal aesthetic if possible, something low-profile preferably, and a PCB that's QMK compatible. Since 100% seems to be a pipe dream I'd be happy with a 70% or 75% and I can build a ten-key stand-alone later. RGB is not a necessity, but it would be nice.

I do know how to solder, but since I'm new to this I'm 100% sure I'm going to want to mess around with different switches, so hot-swappable PCB would be preferred, but if somebody can give me a switch their 90% sure I'll love I don't mind putting in the work to solder switches on.