Author Topic: Need help with PCB issue after Desoldering a Keychron k6 (Probably a Short Circu  (Read 846 times)

Offline backspace_syd

So I’m desoldering a keychron K6 for a friend of mine (to millmax),

Just for context, I’m not that new to desoldering, I have desoldered about 300 switches at this point but I’ve never encountered any problems thus far, this is the first time I’m experiencing a real issue with the board.

So, as I was desoldering the switches, about halfway through I decided to check if all was good, and everything was working fine. But when I did end up finishing the switches and tested the board, when I tested one pad, it would register all the pads of the entire row at the same time or randomly. I’m guessing its a short somewhere on the PCB, note this is my first time dealing with this kind of issue, is there anything I should be looking out for, or if you could spot a problem through the images I will be sending please do point it out for me as I am unfamiliar with these kinds of issues.

Additionally, the desoldering job isn’t the best but I tested every pad and it still works so I’m pretty sure I didn’t lift a pad. I read a little online saying it might be a broken diode (?) however not sure what the actual problem is.

Any help / suggestions would be very appreciated!

testing the pcb after desoldering video & photos of the PCB

https://imgur.com/a/arnLRG6

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Non RGB Keychrons are special boards which have the LEDs connected to the switch matrix, don't think I've helped with an RGB, or a K6 but lets.  Keychron are also annoying because they usually use a black PCB so you can't follow the traces, which makes working them out hard.  Can you turn the LEDs off?  If doing so changes what happens that suggests you have a short to the wrong bit of an LED.