Author Topic: Roccat Arvo for Programming and Gaming?  (Read 10286 times)

Offline Ctwx

Roccat Arvo for Programming and Gaming?
« on: Thu, 07 October 2010, 11:14:24 »
Hi there,

I'm looking for a new keyboard and currently I think the Roccat Arvo is really nice. But since I'm a programmer the Arvo could cause some problems due to it's arrow keys – they are only available if one activate the gaming mode.
Most times I use vim for programming tasks.

I don't play games really often. Most of the time I'm working on Linux (perhaps there are driver problems under Linux?). (Okay, I never work on Windows, so actually I'm only working on Linux.)

Currently I have a Microsoft Internet Keyboard. It's okay for most of the tasks but the keys are partly rubbed off. I simply want a new keyboard.

I have seen here many very impressive keyboards but one problem is, they are from the US and shipping is too expensive. Another point is: I need a germany layout. And I think 200$ (about 143€) is too much for a keyboard.
Another keyboard I was thinking of is the Cherry G80-3000LPCDE-2. It's simple and they write the keys don't rub off. This keyboard costs "only" 63€ (about 88$).

What do you think? Is the Roccat Arvo OK for my requirements or would you recommend another one? For example the Cherry G80? What you think is most useable? linear, click or soft-tactile? From my point of view, I'd say click one is the best.

Thanks
« Last Edit: Thu, 07 October 2010, 14:38:02 by Ctwx »

Offline CeeSA

« Reply #1 on: Thu, 07 October 2010, 11:44:38 »
give it a try
http://cgi.ebay.de/Cherry-Tastatur-Klick-Klicky-G80-guter-Zust-ahnl-IBM-/190451445156?pt=M%C3%A4use_Tastaturen&hash=item2c57ca6da4

This comes with Black Switches. Not for everybody. Search Forum for Infos.

I own this keyboard i think its OK for typing

Offline Ctwx

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 08 October 2010, 03:47:14 »