Author Topic: First Mechanical Keyboard  (Read 9220 times)

Offline vorter

First Mechanical Keyboard
« on: Sat, 06 November 2010, 21:49:40 »
So for the past couple days i have been researching mech boards.
Here is my situation, I play FPS games (Counter Strike, Call Of Duty) almost my entire time of computer usage (90%) and I type the other 10% of the time.
I have never tried a mechanical keyboard before, and I am deciding of getting a board with Cherry MX Blues, browns, or blacks. Im leaning towards the Razer BlackWidow with its blue switches. I press keys down moderately hard and i don't mind any clicky sounds. (But I am worried that it will get annoying)

EDIT: I am also considering the Majestouch Brown or the Das Keyboard Brown.
« Last Edit: Sat, 06 November 2010, 22:49:16 by vorter »

Offline keyboardlover

• Hey Paul Walker, Click It or Ticket!
    • http://www.keyboardlover.com
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 06 November 2010, 22:56:02 »
Hey vorter, welcome to Geekhack! You seem to have some good choices there. Since you game, make sure whatever you get has at least 6 key rollover.

Offline vorter

Hey
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 06 November 2010, 23:06:22 »
Thanks, I have narrowed it down to 3 boards. Each with a different switch and 6+ NKRO.

Das Keboard Model S Professional Silent ----- Browns
Razer Black Widow               ----- Blues
SteelSeries 7g/6gv2               ----- Blacks

Offline Azuremen

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 06 November 2010, 23:12:03 »
Welcome to Geekhack.

I've been comparing my Rosewill keyboard (Cherry MX Blues) to my SteelSeries 6Gv2 (MX Blacks) for FPS games, mostly UT2k3 and UT3 at the moment, and I'm starting to realize I prefer the Black switches a bit more for FPS games. Not entirely sure the reason yet; I think it has to do with how quickly I can dodge on them with a bit less lift.