Author Topic: Model M Spacesaver doesn't work?...  (Read 2026 times)

Offline shakudan

Model M Spacesaver doesn't work?...
« on: Sat, 11 December 2010, 02:07:22 »
Hello to all keyboard lovers!

I'm quite new to this keyboard hobby (just started half a year ago) and have very little experience when it comes to modding.  So far I own a Filco Brown Tenkeyless (traded with Zykos), Filco Blue Tenkeyless Otaku, and a Full-size Model M Keyboard and they all work remarkably.  Recently, I managed to get hold of a Model M Spacesaver and I was so eager to test it out on my T60 Thinkpad via Adesso USB to PS/2 Adapter.  When I plugged it in however, the Thinkpad did not register any keys from the keyboard (I also tested the adapter out using a PS/2 mouse and it works).  

So I tried plugging the Model M Spacesaver to an old desktop computer (Dell Dimension 2400) via PS/2 port and this time, the system gave me constant beeping sounds (six beeps at startup) and the desktop computer also doesn't register any keys.  I also tried the adapter for this computer and it still doesn't work.  This led me to think that it's either a cable problem or it could be an internal keyboard problem.  Has anyone in this forum experienced this problem before, and if so, how can I fix it?  I really want to get this keyboard to work without much hassle...:pout:

(P.S.: I am away from my Model M Full-Size Keyboard at the moment, which is at my college residence.  Therefore, I cannot switch out the cable from my full-size keyboard to the space saving one and test it out even if I wanted to. :frown:)

Offline ch_123

• * Exalted Elder
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 11 December 2010, 03:16:24 »
I was going to suggest that it was a problem with the adapter not liking the SSK, but if it's failing with a direct PS/2 connection, the controller may be dead.