Author Topic: How do you deal with switching layouts?  (Read 3304 times)

Offline iMav

• geekhack creator/founder
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
How do you deal with switching layouts?
« on: Fri, 07 January 2011, 09:01:14 »
The reality of life (especially in the IT world), is that you will not  be able to exclusively use your alternative layout of choice.  Whether it is other people's keyboards (or customers), your iPhone keyboard, the blackberry, public terminal, etc...you have to deal with QWERTY.

I find this very problematic with passwords...as I choose strong ones and learn them by muscle memory.

I'd love to hear how other cope with this!

Offline sudowork

« Reply #1 on: Fri, 07 January 2011, 10:25:47 »
My main keyboard layout as of about 2 years or so has been Dvorak; however, I work in tech support at my school, and I have to deal with QWERTY layouts (and sometimes foreign layouts) on a daily basis. When I set out to learn Dvorak, I would occasionally retest my QWERTY skills to make sure they were up to par. Now, I can switch instantaneously between either and still touch type.

With regard to mobile interfaces like the iPhone; I find the QWERTY layout easier to use still. I've tried to experiment with some alternative layouts like the 8pen for Android platforms, but I never got to spend too much time with it since I don't own an Android device.

For passwords, I learn them phonetically (even though they're random strings of characters). Once I've typed them enough on both layouts, they're committed to muscle memory.

Offline hoggy

• * Ergonomics Moderator
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 07 January 2011, 12:47:38 »
I've lost any qwerty skills to dvorak.  I don't miss it.  Sadly, everyone I've ever worked with is still on qwerty.  

I think the trick is not to be embarrassed that you can't type on another user's keyboard anymore - you probably won't be on it for long anyway.