Author Topic: Model M with some issues  (Read 2301 times)

Offline mausch

Model M with some issues
« on: Wed, 09 March 2011, 18:23:24 »
Hi everyone, first-time poster and overall keyboard newbie here.
Just got a NIB Model M (a '96 42H1292 by Lexmark), and after plugging it in I was horrified to discover that some keys didn't work.
More concretely, these are the keys that don't register (tested with Aqua's KeyTest): B,N,Space,/,Right Alt, Left/Down/Right arrows, Minus on keypad
I first thought it was an adapter issue (I'm using a PS/2-USB adapter), but then discovered that tilting the board 45 degrees from the side and gently tapping it would enable these keys... as long as I don't put it back to horizontal.
I'm pretty sure this happened during shipping, maybe something unsoldered? Anyone seen this? If I were to open the board, what should I look for?

Thanks
Mauricio

Offline mausch

Model M with some issues
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 10 March 2011, 12:27:58 »
Thanks Ripster! I was in the middle of reseating the arrow keys, and it suddenly started working. Used the board for about 4 hours with no issues, then the Enter started failing. Then it started working again (without me doing anything). Then a whole lot of keys in the lower row failed (curiously not the ones that used to fail before). Then the original failure started again.
So I'm sending it back. No Model M for me :-(

Offline theferenc

Model M with some issues
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 10 March 2011, 12:34:10 »
I would try pulling all of the keys and reseating them carefully prior to sending it back. It really is worth it if you can get it working.
HHKB Pro 2 -- Custom UNIX layout Unicomp Customizer 101 -- IBM Model M 1391401 (modded to UNIX layout) -- IBM 1397000 (also UNIX layout) -- SSK in UNIX layout -- Model F 122 key in UNIX layout (Soarer USB "native")

CST L-TracX trackball -- Kensington Expert Mouse trackball

Offline mausch

Model M with some issues
« Reply #3 on: Thu, 10 March 2011, 13:49:33 »