Author Topic: Learning Multiple Layouts Confuse Minds  (Read 1845 times)

Offline Popkeymon

Learning Multiple Layouts Confuse Minds
« on: Sat, 19 March 2011, 08:32:24 »
I have been using the Qwerty layout for more than 15+ years before I learn the Dvorak (two handed) layout. I did not learn the qwerty by the standard touch typing training but simply mixing the touch type and hunt and peck approach with the most comfort way that I believe never comply with the standard touch typing method.

I decided to abandon the qwerty layout and learn to adapt to the Dvorak layout months ago. After several months of severe training,  I found that I have completely forgotten the qwerty and being unable to type the qwerty layout without looking at it!

Recently, I have been learning the Dvorak Lefty layout and repeat the same touch typing training for acquiring the layout. I found that the new layout does interfere my ability to touch type with the DSK (two handed layout) although they are being used day by day with different posture and key arrangement. My error ratio on the DSK (two hand) has increased  and I some time confuse about which layout I am currently typing with.

Offline Kacee

« Reply #1 on: Sun, 20 March 2011, 07:16:45 »
I can understand the switch from qwerty to dvorak, but why would you want to learn lefty dvorak in additional to the 'official' layout? I believe that you have both hands fully functional, no?

Offline Proword

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 28 March 2011, 02:43:13 »
Firstly, with true touch typing, the "mind" doesn't come into it much.  It's a physical skill.

If you are using the same keyboard (ie "flat") to type with a different layout (eg QWERTY vs Dvorak) then I can understand the difficulty in learning.

But if you use different topography keyboards, say flat versus Maltron 3D (or Kinesis), then that should really ease your difficulty.