Author Topic: Dell freezes randomly  (Read 2537 times)

Offline Xyxyll

Dell freezes randomly
« on: Wed, 13 April 2011, 13:15:14 »
Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to the conscious mechanical keyboard world (years ago I surely had a few but never realized it).  With all the ruckus floating around Overclock.net, I thought I'd finally track down a mechanical keyboard to try out.  I play a lot of FPS and Strategy games, and I spend twice that time browsing the internet.

After a bit of scavenging, I found a Dell AT101W with black alps at a friend's computer shop headed out the door for recycling.  Cleaned it up, plugged it in, and all works pretty well considering its age.  My only issue is during Bad Company 2, the keyboard will freeze.  Mouse works fine.  Game is still running.  I have plugged in a USB keyboard during the freeze and it connects frozen as well.  Only solution is to shut down the computer with the power switch.  I haven't been able to consistently reproduce the fault.  I just know it happens after several minutes ingame.

Is the keyboard simply toast or is this one of those "oh you simply forgot to XXXX?"  Mainboard is the ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe.

Thanks for the help!
« Last Edit: Wed, 13 April 2011, 19:27:41 by Xyxyll »

Offline daerid

• Rossipedia
Dell freezes while gaming
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 13 April 2011, 15:15:48 »
I've had several AT101W keyboards over the years, and never once have I had a problem with the computer freezing.

However, I've always had consistent issues with its low rollover number (I think it's a 2-3KRO).

Offline DrunkenDonut

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 13 April 2011, 15:20:49 »
I'm assuming you're using it on a PS/2 port? Barring a real problem with the keyboard, it's possible that a loose connector is causing this. PS/2 keyboards don't like being unplugged - you often can't get a response plugging in a PS/2 board after bootup.