Author Topic: Prospects of Key Modding (Black to Blue)  (Read 1291 times)

Offline ZidaneTribal

Prospects of Key Modding (Black to Blue)
« on: Mon, 25 April 2011, 13:54:27 »
This may seem like an odd question, or perhaps a stupid one since my search for an existing answer may not have been though enough. But I was wondering if it is at all possible to switch out existing Mechancial switches for others.

Specifically I am thinking of the upcoming Zibal 60 from Mionix. As I mentiond in the thread discussing the Zibal proper, my only real concern/complaint with it (other than the obvous lack of multi-colored LEDs, which is nither a large problem mor something that can be helped considering the non-existance of RGB 3mm LEDs) is that it uses black mechanical switches instead of blue. As a writer I would naturally far prefer blues, but I worry that even if such a modification were possible it might compromise the durabiltiy I am looking for with the Zibal.

Naturally I plan on waiting until at least August to see what the initial reactions to the Zibal 60 are, but it does beg the question of modifying switches at home. I appologize in advance if there is already a threat dedicated to this.
Proudly Suffers from "Chronic Hero Syndrome"

Offline The Solutor

« Reply #1 on: Mon, 25 April 2011, 13:58:41 »
http://geekhack.org/showthread.php?17357-U9BL-Beige-edition-(clear-switches-brown-springs)&highlight=beige

BTW the 2 pin multicolor leds exist, and I presume are the one used on the logitech G110
« Last Edit: Mon, 25 April 2011, 14:01:04 by The Solutor »
The problem with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are true  (Abraham Lincoln)

Offline ZidaneTribal

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 25 April 2011, 14:09:43 »
Well I have looked around and have yet to find a 3MM RGB of any pin configuration, though I may be looking in the wrong places.

The guide should help out alot though if I finally decide to go with the Zibal. Thank's alot! I really do appriciate it.