Author Topic: I am such a nooB  (Read 2543 times)

Offline Wilco

I am such a nooB
« on: Mon, 11 July 2011, 17:49:33 »
Hi everyone.

I've been lurking around the forums and wikis the past few weeks, and have attempted to educate myself on mechanical keyboards, I've been using computers and building them as a hobby since I way about 10 (20 years ago).  I have never paid much attention to my keyboard, I'd just use whatever hand me down keyboard I could get ahold of from my dad growing up (sometimes mechanical and sometimes not) when I was younger and now, whenever I build a new rig I skimp big time on the keyboard.  Seriously, I am using a 7+ year old dell wireless keyboard on my most recent computer build last year that I spent over $2500 in components!  

When I originally started my search I was looking for the typical retail Logitech type stuff.  After reading through a lot of the wikis and probably 100 different threads on here I am definitely sold on a mechanical keyboard.

For my use I figure it to be about 50/50 gaming/ typing.  

I've been to a local Fry’s where I could check out the Steelseries and Black Widow to see what the black and blue cherry switches are like.  I loved the blue but I was afraid they might be a little too noisy, the blacks were fine but after checking out the blue I definitely want the tactile type switches.  Based on this, I think I'd probably like the brown switch.  

I've looked online mostly here and manufacturer's websites at

Ducky
Filco
Razor
Deck
Das

I have been having trouble making up my mind.  I don't mind paying $200 for a board.  

I can find negatives on each board as well as positives based on what I have seen in these forums.

Today I have ordered a Filco Ninja from Amazon and a Deck Legend Ice (tactile) from Deck.  I will probably only keep one.  I have never been able to try the clears or browns and but from what I read of how they fall between the black and blues I think I will be pleased with them.