Author Topic: Mechanical Tenkeyless Search  (Read 1171 times)

Offline HybridCore

Mechanical Tenkeyless Search
« on: Tue, 19 July 2011, 03:16:08 »
I'm new to geekhack but I've been on Overclock.net for a bit and know most of my stuff. I wanted to thank some of you guys for the warm welcome.

Anyways, I'm looking for a tenkeyless board for my first computer and I'm currently deciding between the Leopold tenkeyless boards and the Ducky 1087 (possibly the Filco Tenkyeless boards. I'm still deciding on a switch since I have not felt any of them in person. Fortunately, I'm in Japan right now and can go try out boards. I'm not really looking at anything specific between the boards. I'm only looking for the best value. Thanks in advance.

-HybridCore-
Filco Majestouch Black w/ Cherry MX Blues

Offline scribble

« Reply #1 on: Tue, 19 July 2011, 06:19:35 »
all good quality boards, i'd say the Ducky is the best for its value, since i think they'll be especially cheaper in Japan I believe (or maybe it's Taiwan).

Leopold might be extra cheap in Japan too actually.

Blue switches would be my choice if you don't need something quiet, otherwise i'd go for brown or red :P
The clicky sound from the blue makes casual typing SO fun, and it can make typing a paper that much better.
Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless Cherry MX Blue | PLU ML-87 Cherry MX Red

Offline HybridCore

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 19 July 2011, 07:23:59 »
Thanks scribble. I've been set on blue switches for a while since I won't really game. I'll probably spend my spare time trying to get into programming or playing around with Arch Linux.

Can anybody here list the differences between the Ducky and Leopold? Build quality differences, PCB differences, layout differences, and others are all welcome. I want the best board I can get that will instill happiness in me for a long time.