Author Topic: Need advice on new keycaps for Filco R TKL  (Read 1287 times)

Offline Avazee

Need advice on new keycaps for Filco R TKL
« on: Fri, 16 September 2011, 21:37:09 »
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to keycaps, so I'd appreciate any help you all can give me.  I recently purchased a Filco MJ2 Linear R TKL keyboard - I know the keycaps are pad printed so I was looking for something higher in quality.

I know there are those Group Buy keycap threads, but I have no idea if those keycaps fit the Filco.  So my questions are:

1) Do all 'Cherry' keycaps fit the keyboard?
2) If not, what do you all recommend?

Thanks in advance...

Offline Atenacius

« Reply #1 on: Fri, 16 September 2011, 21:42:01 »
If you want something low key but durable and long lasting, consider a Cherry keyboard donor with doubleshot keys. I'm not one to remember the cherry model names but someone will fill you in. Cherry keys go well with Filco keyboards. There was a group buy thread of someone selling the keys from cherry boards.

Keychron Q6 GATERON G PRO YELLOW
Vortex Pok3r CHERRY MX RED
Das Keyboard Model S CHERRY MX BLUE
IBM Model M
1391401 09 MAR 93

Offline nhwhaup

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 17 September 2011, 05:53:14 »
Imsto on the group buy threads usually has a lot of options for keycaps. I bought the PBT caps with gray printing on white keycaps and I love the contrast with the black case and also love the feel of the keycaps. No shining as well.
Current in order of preference:  RealForce 87U Silent White with variable weighted keys X 2, Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless with Linear Reds, Filco Number-pad, Poker with Linear Reds

Sold or returned:  Multiple Microsoft and Logitech keyboards, Das Keyboard Silent, Cherry 6140, RealForce 103UB, RealForce 86U, Filco Majestouch 2 full sized with Linear Reds

Offline litster

• rare caps?! THAT'S A SMILIN
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 17 September 2011, 11:44:55 »