Author Topic: Regarding the Ducky 9000G2 (and black switches)  (Read 3318 times)

Offline RetroHollywood

Regarding the Ducky 9000G2 (and black switches)
« on: Fri, 04 November 2011, 07:42:09 »
My Rosewill RK-9000 is in a purgatorial state where it will be returned when I get a chance (living at university, no easy way to ship out) due to sticking and squeaky keys which cannot be fixed with a simple lube job.  With the holidays coming up, I figured I would get myself a more fully featured keyboard: a Ducky 9000G2.  I would probably order it from Tiger Imports on Amazon.  I am a bit apprehensive because:

-I have never used MX-Black switches before and am worried about how well they can be used for typing.  This keyboard will be used for a combination of gaming and typing papers.  
-Is Tiger Imports reliable?  Judging by their feedback it would seem so, but I was just wondering if anyone had personal experience.  
-Since they are built in the same factory as Filcos (so I understand), how is the build quality?  On my Rosewill it is decent, except for the keys and caps themselves it seems.

Thanks!

Offline itlnstln

« Reply #1 on: Fri, 04 November 2011, 07:51:37 »
Duckys are not made by Costar, they have their own OEM.  I have 2 9008s (with PBT caps) and they are really good keyboards.  I bought mine from Tankguys and PCHome.  You may also want to look into WASD keyboards.  They are very good as well, and I can tell you that you won't have to worry about squeaky keys from them.  They inspect and lube each 'board before it goes out, and the Semi-Custom is just $119.

Offline HWI

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 04 November 2011, 07:52:26 »
I may be wrong, but I didn't think Ducky keyboards were built by Costar like Filco keyboards are. The reason I thought this is because Ducky uses Cherry stabilizers, not Costar.

Edit: Ninja'd
Bottom Out Like A Boss
Razer BWU | Ducky DK-1087 | Noppoo Choc Mini | CM Storm QFR | KBT Race

Offline RetroHollywood