Author Topic: how to set multimedia keys?  (Read 3705 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Balgrog

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 20
how to set multimedia keys?
« on: Mon, 21 November 2011, 00:10:01 »
So I just got a WASD keyboard (LOVE IT, will be writing a full in-depth review soon!) and I come from using a logitech G15. I was wondering if there was a way to assign certain keys to be multimedia (f5-f8). I would like to use them for volume control, and reassign the windows keys to be the activator for them. I am brand new to the mechanical keyboard community so if I have worded this wrong or anything, please let me know, very excited about all of this! I did DL autohotkey, but I have no clue what to do! Any help is greatly appreciated.

Offline wasdkeyboards

  • * Commercial Vendor
  • Posts: 59
how to set multimedia keys?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 21 November 2011, 01:20:24 »
If you want to use the Windows key, you'll need to decide if you want to use the left or right Windows key. If you want both, you'll need redundant code. But, to give you a general idea with the left Windows key.

LWin & F5:: Send {Media_Play_Pause}
LWin & F6:: Send {Volume_Mute}
LWin & F7:: Send {Volume_Up}
LWin & F8:: Send {Volume_Down}

If you want the right Windows key, use RWin. Or if you want both, repeat the code with both LWin and RWin.

Additional multimedia functions:

Send {Media_Play_Pause} ;Play/Pause
Send {Media_Stop} ;Stop
Send {Media_Next} ;Next Track
Send {Media_Prev} ;Previous Track
Send {Volume_Up} ;Volume Up
Send {Volume_Down} ;Voume Down
Send {Volume_Mute} ;Toggle Mute On/Off
Questions and comments, please visit our Geekhack: WASD Keyboards Vendor Forum
WASDKeyboards.com - Custom Mechanical Keyboards

Offline Balgrog

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 20
how to set multimedia keys?
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 21 November 2011, 11:35:29 »
Is that for autohotkey? Is there a better program to use? Thanks for the help!

Offline wasdkeyboards

  • * Commercial Vendor
  • Posts: 59
how to set multimedia keys?
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 21 November 2011, 15:07:29 »
That's for AutoHotkey. Just copy the first part into your script. You can edit the "Send" part of with any of the commands I listed in the second part.

There are other programs available, but I'm not familiar with them so I won't be able to help. AHK is very powerful (although it can be a little difficult to use sometimes) and I never needed to look elsewhere.
Questions and comments, please visit our Geekhack: WASD Keyboards Vendor Forum
WASDKeyboards.com - Custom Mechanical Keyboards

Offline zirb

  • Posts: 266
  • Location: Germany
how to set multimedia keys?
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 22 November 2011, 05:39:01 »
heya,
what I use since I've no multimediakeys anymore on my keyboard (used to have a G15, too) is 3RVX. It's a small program in which you can define the key kombination of you choice for volume changes.
For pause/play/next/previous I defined the keys in Foobar. Autohotkey seems to be the better way if you use any other player.

for download go here:
http://matthew.malensek.net/software/