Author Topic: Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2  (Read 5941 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ImO

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: Sweden
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« on: Wed, 30 November 2011, 07:20:30 »
Hi

I'm looking for new keycaps to an Steelseries 6g v2 and i would like some help on where to look and what i should think of. Is there diffrence types of hieghts? Do i need "special" keys for serten areas on the keyboard (for example is there a diffence on the keys on the numpad to the regualr letters etz?)? I'm special intrested to change the wasd keys and esc. But anything will be appriciated.
I'm located in Sweden so i would prefer eurpean sites but if the price is rright i might consider US sites to.
I like to appologice for my spelling!

Best regards!
IBM Model M - Pok3r Mx brown with Granite Mono Legend - Ducky Premier Mx blue Blue / grey - CM quickfire rapid MX red with Ducky Green / Creem blank PBT

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 30 November 2011, 09:18:19 »
i just bought a set of mx compatible keys from ebay... all keys should fit except the Shift and the enter key... the Space key is equal to the leopolds.

Offline cancelx

  • Posts: 58
  • Location: Poland
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 30 November 2011, 16:20:14 »
I saw a PBT lasered set for 6Gv2/7G somewhere on taobao, weird shift and enter included
Model M SSK - WASD V1 - CM Storm QFR - Ducky Year of the Rabbit - Realforce 87U - WASD V2 - K-Type

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 30 November 2011, 19:48:20 »
Just note that the different rows have different profiles.

I know that SP makes slightly lower profile keys than my FILCO's (These are the majority of keys being made in the group buy section). I'm not sure about Steelseries.

Offline zulios

  • Posts: 149
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #4 on: Thu, 01 December 2011, 08:17:24 »
The SP keys I've had from the SC2 group buy have a slightly lower profile than the regular 6gv2 keys as well.

Tipro matrix - mx black

Offline zulios

  • Posts: 149
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #5 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 07:31:26 »
I'll try to have a look.

Tipro matrix - mx black

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #6 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 08:58:17 »
[ Attachment Invalid Or Does Not Exist ] 33712[/ATTACH]

Here's photos of my Filco keys.

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #7 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:05:06 »
Thought you meant filco. duuuhhhrrr...

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #8 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:18:05 »
i will post here pics of my keys when my key puller and white keys arrive , probably monday...

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #9 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:22:58 »
Quote from: tapk69;462754
i will post here pics of my keys when my key puller and white keys arrive , probably monday...

Why need a key puller. I've been using my ruler = x

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #10 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:31:44 »
i only have the 6GV2 for like 2 weeks , and before i didnt even knew there were mechanical keyboards and 500$ hybrid keyboards....

So its probably best to wait for the filco puller , that way nothing should go wrong.. i will have to buy another tenkeyless board in January also because i bought too much keycaps ..

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #11 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:32:49 »
**** me , i cant upload an avatar

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #12 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:35:20 »
Quote from: tapk69;462766
**** me , i cant upload an avatar

Post Moar!

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #13 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:37:40 »
i have to make 500 posts to have an avatar ?

Thats pure racism ...
« Last Edit: Fri, 02 December 2011, 09:59:14 by tapk69 »

Offline dorkvader

  • Posts: 6282
  • Location: Boston area
  • all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #14 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 10:16:33 »
Quote from: tapk69;462773
i have to make 500 posts to have an avatar ?

Thats pure racism ...

Wait, I thought I made my avatar before I even had one post?

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #15 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 11:02:34 »
Maybe it's a bug. We've been having a ton of issues lately.

Offline fireball87

  • Posts: 43
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #16 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 11:18:01 »
There is such a bug, I created a thread in the feedback section.  It gives a nice error, that according to the vBulletin community, probably means that permissions for the avatars folder may be screwed up (though other uploads works fine for me).  I couldn't say for sure though, so I won't.

What I do know is that without my pretty avatar gracing my post, today is not the most enjoyable day.

Offline zulios

  • Posts: 149
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #17 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 15:28:50 »
[ Attachment Invalid Or Does Not Exist ] 33757[/ATTACH]
Here you go. Sorry for the crappy quality.
All measures using metric system, and be careful cause the cap in the middle in inclined.

Tipro matrix - mx black

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #18 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 19:22:55 »
Can you take a pic of the right shift? what size is it? 1.75X ?

Offline Mackem

  • Posts: 237
  • Location: United Kingdom
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #19 on: Fri, 02 December 2011, 19:28:17 »
Quote from: hazeluff;462756
Why need a key puller. I've been using my ruler = x


How do you manage that?

Offline dorkvader

  • Posts: 6282
  • Location: Boston area
  • all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #20 on: Sat, 03 December 2011, 11:59:30 »
Quote from: Mackem;463095
How do you manage that?

You just wedge it in under the keycap, and slowly lever it off. I imagine it's more difficult with the function keys, and especially the escape.

Offline hazeluff

  • * Vendor
  • Posts: 2384
  • Location: Vancouver, BC
  • DEMILK!
    • Originative
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #21 on: Sat, 03 December 2011, 14:28:25 »
Quote from: Mackem;463095
How do you manage that?

I put my ruler in the crack and use it like a fulcrum. So far I haven't destroyed anything.

Offline tapk69

  • Posts: 68
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #22 on: Tue, 06 December 2011, 09:08:01 »
i got my puller today , i will take off my right shift and measure it ...

Offline TheProfosist

  • Posts: 3671
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Custom Layouts Only!
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #23 on: Sun, 11 December 2011, 05:32:00 »
WASD should be able to fulfill your needs if you want ABS if you want PBT your going to have to contact qtan and order off taobao

Offline hashbaz

  • Grand Ancient One
  • * Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 5057
  • Location: SF Bae Area
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #24 on: Sun, 11 December 2011, 05:43:21 »
Quote from: tapk69;462773
i have to make 500 posts to have an avatar ?

Thats pure racism ...

There are image dimension and file size limits ... your pic might be too big.

Offline fireball87

  • Posts: 43
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #25 on: Sun, 11 December 2011, 07:38:31 »
Quote from: hashbaz;468202
There are image dimension and file size limits ... your pic might be too big.
Eh, it was a bug, and now it's fixed.

Offline Oqsy

  • Posts: 861
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #26 on: Sun, 25 December 2011, 20:54:58 »
Mm vtec
[sigpic]Currently in use: Rosewill RK9000 and CH DT225[/sigpic]
"Private misfortunes make for public welfare."

Offline lenakira

  • Posts: 27
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #27 on: Wed, 28 December 2011, 17:38:25 »
Is it possible to get a flatter button for my 6gv2?

Offline TheProfosist

  • Posts: 3671
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Custom Layouts Only!
Keycaps to Steelseries 6g v2
« Reply #28 on: Wed, 28 December 2011, 19:23:09 »
Quote from: lenakira;479239
Is it possible to get a flatter button for my 6gv2?

flatter button?