Author Topic: TotalN00b?:Getting a second mechanical keyboard need some questions answered.  (Read 4390 times)

Offline shogrran

Good day!

Thread title says it all. I am planning on getting another mechanical keyboard just because I got hooked with mechanical switches. I find great enjoyment in using mechanical keyboards that sometimes I just find an excuse to type something just so I can type something.

I'm thinking this is a no-rush buy, I can save up and get an expensive DAS Ultimate keyboard which aesthetically I like because of its blank key caps. One other choice I have is to get the CM Storm quick fire rapid when it becomes available.

Question one:

As a few of you guys already know from my previous posts on other threads I am new to this keyboard thing. I would like to know why DAS keyboards are so damn f*king expensive. If they use the same cherry switches as other keyboards whats the major difference? Why would I spend 128USD (5000PHP in my countrys currency) for a non-back-lit, no dedicated macro key keyboard? I have money to spend but I don't want to be a stupid buyer like the emperor in "the emperor's new clothes" story.

Question two:

If there is nothing special about the DAS Ultimate and I'll just be stupidly spending more just because of it's name and not because of its features (*cough* mac *cough*) then I won't get a das. Question two is, what other keyboards have blank keycaps?

Question three: