Author Topic: Cherry MX Rubber O-Ring Switch Dampeners  (Read 8676 times)

Offline Bender16

Cherry MX Rubber O-Ring Switch Dampeners
« on: Thu, 23 February 2012, 18:50:37 »
Hi there!

Im thinking about getting the O-Rings for my Blackwidow, but I still have some questions.

1.) Should I get the 50A or the 40A ones? I dont really know what the difference is between them, I just know that the 40A ones are a bit softer.
2.) Are the keys from the blackwidow compatible with them?
3.) Should I get the plastic key cap puller or the wired key cap puller? I've never done something like this before on a mechanical keyboard.

4.) wasdkeyboards got single switches from the Cherry MX ones, I considered ordering a brown and black switch to try them out, is this a good idea?
5.) Is my Blackwidow compatible with other keysets from wasdkeyboards, like a blank keyset or something like that? Are all the Cherry MX keys the same?

That's it for now -

I'd appreciate any help given.

Thanks in advance

Offline sawedust

• Zealot Chef
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 23 February 2012, 23:03:53 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

1.  That comes down to personal preference.  I currently have a set of 50A O-Rings installed, and I like the feel of them.  It's a little bouncy, not mushy but does a great job of dampening the sound when bottoming out as well as providing a little more comfort.  Why not order a pair of both and see if you like either one?  There is a group buy for the 40A O-Rings going on right now in the Group Buys subforum; you might want to check that out.

2.  Yes, the BW keys are compatible.

3.  I prefer the wired key cap puller, but to each his or her own.

4.  Sure, why not?  It will help give you a better idea of what the switches feel like.  For best results, it's usually better to get a board to try out but that isn't feasible for some of us.  (Although if you hang out around GH long enough, you will eventually have more than one, two, three sets of keyboards.)