Author Topic: Why are old doubleshots so desirable?  (Read 7632 times)

Offline neeb

Why are old doubleshots so desirable?
« on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 20:55:38 »
Hey guys I was wondering something; why are old doubleshot keys (or any old keycaps) so desirable? I see a lot of talk about salvaging old keyboards for their keycaps and stuff like that, why? Is it just the retro look or are those keycaps harder to find now or what exactly?

Sorry if most people consider this to be common sense, I'm pretty new to most of this.

Offline AKIMbO

• HHKBro
  • Know Topre, Know Peace. No Topre, No Peace.
Re: Why are old doubleshots so desirable?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 20:57:49 »
Old cherry boards have very thick doubleshot keycaps.  Wyse boards have a beautiful color scheme (navy blue on white & yellow on gray).  To get a new set of doubleshots you have to get in on a group buy and to do that is usually around the same price as buying old boards and salvaging the keycaps off of them. 

TLDR; They are cheap and sometimes very thick (inb4 that's what she said).
Mkawa Beta SSK | IBM SSK | IBM Model AT F | IBM F 122 | IBM Unsaver | LZ-GH (62g ergo clears) | HHKB Pro2 Type-S | HHKB Pro2 | Realforce 87U-Silent (55g uniform) | Leopold FC660C | Omnikey 101 (blue alps) | Kingsaver (blue alps) | Zenith ZKB2 (green alps)
| KBD75 (box reds)

Offline neeb

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 21:00:57 »
Old cherry boards have very thick doubleshot keycaps.  Wyse boards have a beautiful color scheme (navy blue on white & yellow on gray).  To get a new set of doubleshots you have to get in on a group buy and to do that is usually around the same price as buying old boards and salvaging the keycaps off of them. 

TLDR; They are cheap and sometimes very thick (inb4 that's what she said).

Lmao.

And the thickness of the keycap means what exactly? It lasts longer, it's just more comfortable (ie it 'feels' better when typing on them) or?