Author Topic: MX Clears/Greens  (Read 1545 times)

Offline NikoGasm

• Platinum mad.
    • Twitch
MX Clears/Greens
« on: Thu, 01 November 2012, 17:15:28 »
So I have a keyboard with Blues, one with Reds, and my Browns are in the mail. I've tried Blacks and I hate them. So that covers all the basic MX switches. The next things I want to try before I dip into Alps and Topres would be Clears and Greens.

So what would be the best way to go about sampling these? I will not swap out switches on any of my three boards, as I have zero soldering experience and do not want to possibly damage these. So if you suggest buying another cheap board just to change out the switches, what board would you suggest? If there's a better alternative, what might that be?

I'm very open to any options I have and I'm willing to try most anything you guys recommend. However, aside from my current three boards being off limits, the only other issue would be that I'm currently unemployed and don't have much money to spare. So the less costly routes would be my preferred choice.
| MX Mini | Ducky DK1087 | A87 |

Offline alaricljs

• I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
Re: MX Clears/Greens
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 01 November 2012, 17:19:45 »
The_Ed was selling clear boards  made by Cherry in the classifieds...  Green is going to be really hard to come by on the cheap, even not on the cheap.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline Computer-Lab in Basement

• The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Live long and prosper
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 01 November 2012, 17:21:29 »
If you're looking for a cheap board to swap out the switches, check out this thread:

http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=36652.0

I am currently swapping out all the fake Red Kailh switches for Cherry MX Clears.
tp thread is tp thread
Sometimes it's like he accidentally makes a thread instead of a google search.