Author Topic: Keycap height on CM Quickfire Rapid  (Read 4409 times)

Offline tinyblob

Keycap height on CM Quickfire Rapid
« on: Fri, 16 November 2012, 10:09:37 »
Hi there,

I've been using a Raptor Gaming K1 keyboard for a while with Cherry MX switches, I picked up a few replacement keys from QWERkeys for it.

I've just received a CM Quickfire Rapid, and I see immediately that the keycaps are a different height. If I was to put the caps from QWERkeys or the K1 onto it they'd be a few mm lower than the other keys.

This is possibly a stupid question (I'm new to this), but I thought there were set heights, and that's why the keys are so interchangeable? Are the CM keys especially tall? Does this mean I have to do an all or nothing replacement, not just some of them?

Thanks!

Offline laffindude

• ( ̽ ¬ ˳¬)
Re: Keycap height on CM Quickfire Rapid
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 16 November 2012, 10:14:32 »
K1 use Cherry profile keys that are lower. Almost everyone else use taller keys.

Offline esoomenona

• Gnillort?
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 16 November 2012, 10:14:50 »
They are different height profiles. The taller ones on the CM Storm are what is referred to as OEM profile. OEM profile are used on CM Storm, Filcos, Das, among others.

The Raptor K1 is based on a Cherry board, so it used Cherry profile. They are shorter than OEM.

Then there is SP profile, from Signature Plastics. They are very similar in height to Cherry, but there are some differences in them.

Offline tinyblob

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 16 November 2012, 10:19:55 »
Hmm, I didn't know this. So the keycaps I bought from QWERkeys are also the Cherry profile.

I was going to buy this set from WASD: http://www.wasdkeyboards.com/index.php/88-key-iso-cherry-mx-keycap-set.html

It's referred to as a Cherry MX set, does that mean they'll be the Cherry profile, and therefore shorter than OEM profile keys on the CM? I'm desperate to get rid of them, I don't like the font at all!

Offline asdf