Author Topic: Recommended keyboard for gaming+typing  (Read 2422 times)

Offline SinisterSquirl

Recommended keyboard for gaming+typing
« on: Fri, 23 November 2012, 17:23:00 »
So, i love pc gaming and i want to purchase a mechanical keyboard (i am using a really low quality logitec keyboard thats falling apart).

However being a college student i also want to be able to have a sensational feel as i type out essays and play on typeracer. I am quite proud of my wpm!

Anyway geekhack, can you recommend a suitable keyboard (brand)?

Also brown or red switches?

Offline wetto

• Brazil's Keyboard Enthusiasts Representative
    • Portuguese Mechanical Keyboard Guide
Re: Recommended keyboard for gaming+typing
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 23 November 2012, 17:29:41 »
Well, since your main use will be gaming, let me explain one thing.

You know, when your keyboard doesn't has the numeric pad, the amount of time and effort it takes to switch between keyboard and mouse on your right hand decreases, you get more efficient, your mice gets closer to you and your desk gets cleaner.

Backlit may look cool, but it doesn't increases your efficiency. Hell, if you're a gamer and you still look at your keyboard while playing, train more!

So, that's why people like Tenkeyless non-backlit keyboards in here.

And when it comes to tenkeyless and cheap but well-made keyboards, I've gotta say that the Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid is a clear winner. Plus, it's available in ANSI/ISO layouts on many countries around the world and also in different Cherry MX Switches, which includes EVEN Cherry MX Green.
My collection:
More
Mice: Logitech G602, CM Storm Recon, CM Storm Spawn, Razer Naga, Ozone Radon Opto, Corsair M60, Tesoro Gandiva, CM Storm Alcor, Mionix Naos 8200.