Author Topic: Filco ninja brown switch Vs Unicomp classic buckling spring  (Read 3035 times)

Offline samuelellis

Filco ninja brown switch Vs Unicomp classic buckling spring
« on: Thu, 20 December 2012, 21:31:10 »
Im sure you get questions like this a lot but this is my current situation

At work i am a sysadmin and have been using a Dell membrane keyboard for the past 4years or so - to be honest its not been a bad keyboard but ive noticed that some of the keys dont respond fully plus it is missing a few keys and as the keyboard in my home laptop is starting to fail for me (fine for my mrs but with the amount of typing i do not for me) i figure this is the time to bite the bullet and pick up a mechanical keyboard that i use at home and work.

I have been looking at keyboards for a while and it have narrowed them down to potentially two keyboards

The Filco ninja Brown switch or the Unicomp 104 classic buckling spring

As i syadmin in a datacentre with Linux/Windows boxes i do a lot of typing and at home i run a mix of Linux/Windows machines (Heck i even have a linux pc in the car) so again i hit keyboards hard as i like the command line

Now as i will be taking the keyboards back and forth the Filco seems to be winning out on it looking a bit more portable and having quiet switches would not annoy my co-workers as much. Plus the printed labels on the front of the Filco keys look like it will be easier to modify the keyboard and re-apply the labels than on the Unicomp.

However i keep being drawn to the unicomp simply because it is a IBM model M in a new case as I always made a beeline for the PC's using the old model M keyboards when i was at school

Anyone got any advice or other keyboard recomendations along the lines of those two

Offline TheQsanity

• SmallFry Lovin'
Re: Filco ninja brown switch Vs Unicomp classic buckling spring
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 20 December 2012, 23:32:34 »
Well filcos not clicky and model m is clicky.