Author Topic: Total newb trying to sort things out  (Read 1351 times)

Offline Porschefan

Total newb trying to sort things out
« on: Sat, 29 December 2012, 21:21:30 »
Hi Geekhackers,

I'm amazed to have stumbled across a place with such a huge amount of information/opinions/esoterica on the subject of keyboards.    I've been typing since I was about 14 WAY back in the days when electric machines were just starting to penetrate the mass market.   I've always been an OK touch typist--probably better than most people, but definitely sub-100 WPM even on a good day.    I've never had any real reason or interest in getting faster and I've never been a gamer and for whatever reason have been happily typing along on cheap keyboards--mostly Dell's since those are the computers I generally buy.  I somehow ran across some info on mechanical-switch type board and I started doing some research and, well, here I am.    I almost bought an Aivia Osmium (http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Osmium-Mechanical-Keyboard-GK-OSMIUM/dp/B008U6SRYW) because I thought it looked kind of cool and Cherry MX Red's seemed to be a good place to start.

Then I started noticing (strange timing!) that the inside of my right wrist was starting to get irritated while typing and I thought maybe it was time to investigate the "ergonomic" keyboard offerings out there.    Somehow that led me here and I've been scarfing up data as best I can.    I definitely want to try mechanical and I'm interested in the ergonomics, so it seems that my choices are pretty much limited to either the "Truly Ergonomic" keyboard or one of the Kinesis Advantage models.   There are probably some others that I don't know about.