Author Topic: Some LCD backlighting problems  (Read 1256 times)

Offline NewbieOneKenobi

Some LCD backlighting problems
« on: Mon, 18 March 2013, 19:16:05 »
Hi guys. I'm a bit of a noob with LCD monitors. I know they aren't really reliable with colours but I don't think the likelihood is high of running into dimmer top half on two monitors from different manufacturers, diffent retailers and purchase dates, (and one of them is matte while the other is glare). Or that they would deteriorate in synchro like that.

But my eyeline is where it should be and I still see #000020 as basically black on the top half of the monitor, while it's awful glaring blue on the left half, on both screens, to the point I don't actually know if it's too little light on the top half or too much on the bottom half.

Am I doing something wrong in terms of ergonomics or is the problem really so frequent with flat panels?

Is there some kind of driver hack to set brightness separately for top and bottom half each?

Tilting them differently helps little. I'd need to be like two inches in front of the screen and look from half a foot above to see the same colour equally.

Offline Turkishrambo

Re: Some LCD backlighting problems
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 18 March 2013, 19:41:23 »
Itd help to know the model of the monitors.

Also for uniformity its best to have 2 of the same monitor.

Offline NewbieOneKenobi

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 20 March 2013, 14:56:57 »