Author Topic: Can I remove switches simply by desoldering them?  (Read 1158 times)

Offline Jamesbeat

Can I remove switches simply by desoldering them?
« on: Mon, 08 April 2013, 11:39:19 »
I bought a keyboard for work, and I'm doing a little modding to it.
It's a Cherry G80 8113 POS keyboard that I got for $42 shipped.

I was shopping on price alone for this board as I didn't have a lot to spend on a keyboard just for work, so there are a couple of things about it that I don't like.

One of them is the extra row of function keys.
Above the regular fuction keys is a row of programmable keys, laid out in the same way as the esc and function keys, ie. a single one on the left and then three groups of four.
I'm sure these keys would be very useful for some applications, but I don't need them on my work keyboard and they look a bit goofy.

I want to remove the keys completely and cover the holes with a strip of plastic.

I've never worked with Cherry switches before, and I know that some of them have wire links or diodes inside.

What I want to know is, can I just desolder the offending switches, or will I also need to insert links to reestablish the electrical pathways of the matrix?
« Last Edit: Mon, 08 April 2013, 11:41:13 by Jamesbeat »

Offline badcop

• thorpe thocking master race
Re: Can I remove switches simply by desoldering them?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 08 April 2013, 11:57:42 »
4 points to desolder per switch.  2 for the switch and 2 for the diodes.  cherry keyboards are really easy to desolder cleanly.
| MX Green Poker | HHKB Pro 2 White | HHKB Pro 2 Black | MX White Goldtouch TK Pad | Modded MX Red kul ES-87
| COMING SOON™ | MX Red GH60 | Ergo Clear GH60 |

Offline Jamesbeat

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 08 April 2013, 14:04:32 »
Right, but if I intend to permanently remove the switch, do I have to install a wire link or reinstall the diode across two of the pads, or will the keyboard work ok with all four pads 'empty'?

Offline WhiteFireDragon

• youtube