Author Topic: Keycap Questions  (Read 3775 times)

Offline kelbear

• (。◕‿‿◕。) PIEPIEPIE~~
    • WorthyList
Keycap Questions
« on: Thu, 18 April 2013, 10:15:18 »
Just a heads up, I'm relatively new to keyboards and customization so please pardon me if I'm asking questions that have obvious answers.

I just received my Filco Majestouch 2 and I wanted to find some nice keycaps to use. I've been reading and the most common topic I've come across has always been PBT vs ABS. To my understanding, PBS resists shine "better" than ABS, but they're also much more expensive and harder to find. I've been looking all over and PBS is so rare to find in the colour I'm looking for.. should I just go ahead with ABS?

I've been looking through the GH forum and I came across the Valentine set (I fell in love  :eek:). I asked a couple people already and it seems that these keys (new set) will be hard (if not impossible) to find as they were sold over a year ago. I've tried to replicate the Valentine set off WASD but I cannot choose the font colour to use on the keys as I want white on pink and pink on white like the Valentine set. Are there any other places that offer similar services?

I love the look of white keys, but I'm a little hesitant in terms of colour change (getting dirty, turning yellow, etc); is this really something I should be worrying about or should I just go ahead with it?

Offline PointyFox

Re: Keycap Questions
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 18 April 2013, 11:22:06 »
You mean PBT. I personally have never noticed any difference; and actually prefer shiny keycaps (helps me to slide my fingers to different keys better). I just go with what looks the best to me. I don't think you have to worry about white keycaps getting dirty.  They'll never match the keyboard anyway. White is never really white.

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 18 April 2013, 11:29:01 »