Author Topic: Anyone used one of these?  (Read 3956 times)

Offline xsphat

• Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer

Offline victheslik

Anyone used one of these?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 01 September 2008, 05:20:45 »
-
« Last Edit: Sun, 26 November 2023, 22:13:48 by victheslik »
"The only antidote to mental suffering is physical pain. " Karl Marx
A wiseman once said, "If Bible proves the existence of God, then comic books prove the existence of Superheros."

Offline graywolf

• http://www.graywolfphoto.com/
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 01 September 2008, 08:59:36 »
I am not sure why, people think that. Rubber dome keyboards run from utter crap to pretty decent feeling. Of course none of them are clicky, and I doubt a serious gamer would be happy with one. But as a writer, I have found that a good rubber ducky keyboard is good enough to write on.

I was thinking of getting one of those Space Saver II's, but have commited for a different rubber ducky keyboard. My IBM M3 is halfway decent and is definitly a rubber ducky. Best $3 I ever spent.

But then they say membrane keyboards are crap too, forgetting that the Model-M is a membrane keyboard. So I guess it is fair to say cheaply made keyboards are crap; good ones, whatever their technology are good ones. But some of the good ones are not good for some uses. A keyboard that is great for writing on is not good for gaming, and vis versa.

However, none of that is an endorsement of the SSII, as I have never used one.

Offline bigpook

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 01 September 2008, 09:19:42 »
So what passes for a good/decent rubber dome keyboard?
HHKB Pro 2 : Unicomp Spacesaver : IBM Model M : DasIII    

Offline Ulysses31

« Reply #4 on: Mon, 01 September 2008, 09:55:40 »
People tend to speak highly of Cherry rubber domes, though the only one I ever used seemed to require a lot of key pressure.  That was ages ago though.

Offline lowpoly

« Reply #5 on: Mon, 01 September 2008, 10:39:06 »
Quote from: Ulysses31;8245