Author Topic: Model M Enthusiast  (Read 2196 times)

Offline cynic

• linuxforcynics.com/
Model M Enthusiast
« on: Sat, 06 July 2013, 12:11:19 »
Hello everyone,

I'm new to GH and thought I'd introduce myself. As the title suggests my favorite keyboard is the IBM Model M. In fact, the one I have is only 4 years younger than me and is the very same keyboard I learned to type on. One of my fond memories is being awaken by an infernal racket coming from the study, it was my mother typing a letter.

Anyway, as much as I like my trusty model m, I am eager to branch out a little. Maybe find something a little quieter so I can take it to work! Or perhaps something ergonomic...or a tenkeyless version. Also, I've heard green switches are almost as nice to type on as buckling springs...hmmm..

I fear this will be the beginning of an expensive hobby!

Offline Trent

Re: Model M Enthusiast
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 06 July 2013, 23:25:58 »

Your fears are correct.

Quote from: Trent
I hate fun
IBM Model M | IBM Model M SSK | FK-2000 | FK-8000 | FK-9000 | Fujitsu Peerless | Zenith Data Systems (Yellow ALPS!) | AEK

Offline xSpartanCx

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 12 July 2013, 12:16:44 »
I like typing on my model M as much as my mx reds.... Hmmmm

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
« Reply #3 on: Fri, 12 July 2013, 15:43:59 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

Cherry green switches are nice, and one bonus of cherry switches is the wide variety of keycaps available for them. There are several mods you can try to make your model M a little quieter: you may be interested in the dental floss mod.

Offline meiosis

• * Esteemed Elder
  • Time
« Reply #4 on: Fri, 12 July 2013, 16:17:13 »
I too am younger than all Model M's.

My dad interned and worked for IBM around when I was born, and I grew up using PS/2 IBM Model M's. After rubber domes became very popular and I got my first, I thought it was extremely weird to use them and wondered why.