Author Topic: Hello and thank you for this forum  (Read 1344 times)

Offline rvjansen

Hello and thank you for this forum
« on: Mon, 22 July 2013, 05:21:12 »
Hi, I am René Vincent Jansen and I am so happy to have discovered this forum. I remember the sad feeling when companies threw thousands of perfectly good keyboards in the skip to replace them with awful and cheap non-working ones. I have carried around a model M for years to use at jobs - I am an indepent contractor - and will do again when the state of the economy allows. We know that we can be a bit more idiosyncratic when we are scarce.

I have enough IBM model M's in storage to last me a lifetime. Especially because they never break. Reading some of the postings here, I will have a look and pick out the oldest one I have for daily use. This message is typed on a 1990 model, with the cursive logo, attached to a Mac Pro - command switch mapped to caps lock, over a sitecom PS/2-USB interface. I think I have one keyboard with a square metal logo, and I am going to check which year that is. Years ago I gave away a 1987 model that I got with my original PS/2 model50.

Also, some ten years ago I ordered a Unicomp Emulator 3270 keyboard - I grew up on the real 3278's and 3179 terminals. I loved the extra hardware clicker that some of the older models had - the keys would go nice and soft after approximately 5 years but the clicker kept on clicking. I never could use it properly on my Macs - missing some essential function keys for Emacs - but now I know why and I am going to pick it up and work on it- probably attaching it to a raspberry Pi running hercules, removing the jumper and changing the linux drivers. This is so great!

In the meantime, I cannot understand why people hurt their fingers and make all kinds of typos's due to the abysmal keyboards they have. I must be that they don't know what a keyboard is.

best regards,

René.

« Last Edit: Wed, 24 July 2013, 06:09:11 by rvjansen »

Offline SpAmRaY