Author Topic: ALPS MCL-101  (Read 3656 times)

Offline abdulmuhsee

ALPS MCL-101
« on: Wed, 14 August 2013, 02:18:09 »
So I'm new to mechanical keyboards, having always had $10 basic ones for all of my adult life.  My latest "spill proof" one was ruined while cleaning it with a wet paper towel, and since I didn't particularly want another random usb keyboard, I decided to bust out an ALPS MCL-101.

I've read a bit about the switch types, Cherry MX, Complicated ALPS, Simple ALPS, how Black ALPS are apparently terrible, so I'd just like to know what kind of keyboard I have here.  Is this a cheap keyboard, or is it an older, original ALPS with good switches and whatnot?

For typing, I'm enjoying the unique sensation, but for games, I'm struggling a bit with how hard I have to push down the keys; makes it feel unresponsive somehow.  The spacebar also seems a touch squeaky and needs to be pressed close to the center to get a clean input and can't be satisfactorily pressed near the edge like I'm used to.  I had mechanical keyboards growing up with Windows 3.1, 95, and ME, but I don't ever remember the keys being quite this stiff.

So yeah, just wondering if I could get some info on this keyboard from someone who is knowledgeable in these affairs.  Also, as a somewhat unrelated side question, I was curious as to why my computer will sometimes beep at me if I happen to hit multiple keys at once with this keyboard.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: ALPS MCL-101
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 14 August 2013, 06:20:06 »
Seems to be discussed, briefly, here: http://www.reddit.com/r/keyboards/comments/xpric/found_an_alps_mcl101_in_my_neighbors_attic_anyone/

Black Complicated Tactile NonClicky ALPS, according to our old friend.