Author Topic: Hello from Italy  (Read 1403 times)

Offline ragnog81

Hello from Italy
« on: Fri, 27 September 2013, 06:01:05 »
Hey all.

I am the new owner of a CM Storm QuickFire Rapid with Cherry MX Black switches.

I am new to mechanical keyboards, I just moved to the QFR from a Logitech G110.
I am truly impressed by the change.
I bought the new keyboard mostly for gaming, with clear ideas about what I needed (great feeling, precision, reaction) and not (macros, backlighting etc.) and I'm very very very satisfied.

I'm now looking to improve even more the (already awesome) feeling with my new keyboard.
Next steps:

Finally, there is one point I'm not still completely sure: I love MX Black switches so far, and I had the opportunity to try (for few minutes) MX Reds.
Initial feeling was that reds are way too soft for me, while black are a bit hard but perfect (also I tend to do many typos, so that's another reason why I have chosen reds).
Anyway, I'm not completely sure about red vs black (purely for gaming), so I'm thinking about buying a QFR red (I also like it's red plate look) and return one of the twos after a test period.

Please provide suggestions / comments.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: Fri, 27 September 2013, 06:03:10 by ragnog81 »

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
Re: Hello from Italy
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 27 September 2013, 06:09:07 »
You should definitely try out the two switches for yourself.  Switches are definitely a personal preference thing. I personally don't like Reds because they're too light. I have 65g springs in my Epsilon right now and that's the lightest spring for linear switches I would use.

Anyways, welcome to GeekHack!

Offline SnareSpectre

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 27 September 2013, 08:40:53 »
I agree with CPTBadAss. After a ton of research, I decided to go with blacks for my first board, hated them, then returned the keyboard after trying blues and loving them.