Author Topic: Stem imprint on top of keycap  (Read 2360 times)

Offline aicrono

• A Touching Experience
Stem imprint on top of keycap
« on: Sat, 16 November 2013, 15:53:12 »
Is it normal for some of the key caps to have the stem imprint on the top of the cap? This is a stock Rosewill key cap that I've been using for a few years. It is kind of hard to capture it so I hope these pictures came out well enough to see what I mean.

Offline Photoelectric

• * Administrator
Re: Stem imprint on top of keycap
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 16 November 2013, 16:13:45 »
It's not unusual, yes.  I've seen this on various keycaps.  Some keycaps are better made than others.
- Keyboards: LZ-GH (Jailhouse Blues)M65-a, MIRA SE, E8-V1, MOON TKL, CA66
- Keyboard Case Painting Tips -
- Join Mechanical Keyboards photography group on Flickr -

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 16 November 2013, 17:15:51 »
Looks like it has had a fair bit of use.  ABS?  Might have been slightly thinner than the others, but still passed QA, and now has worn down just enough to make the stem show.

There was another question like this about Topre keycaps recently.
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada