Author Topic: Hello All. Opinions / Input Welcome...  (Read 2153 times)

Offline BigWopHH

• http://www.hothardware.com
Hello All. Opinions / Input Welcome...
« on: Fri, 30 January 2009, 21:57:08 »
Hi All.  Just found this board recently and have been hooked.  I've been an input device junkie forever, and totally dig that there's others out there like me.  I'm also a tech writer, so having a solid keyboard is important to me.

Anyway.  I found this forum because I was getting many more typos than usual on my Das III Pro.  I did some googling to see if anyone else was having the same problems as me, and here I am.  But, over that past year or so, I've burned through a number of other keyboards as well trying to find the "right" one.  I've used Enermax's Auroras (not bad), a Unicomp Customizer, a Steelseries 7G, the Das III, the ABS M1 (I'm currently typing on it), a vintage Dell, and the Scorpius M10.

Of them all, I typed fastest on the 7G, but hated that it didn't have a left Windows key--hence the current ABS.  I liked the sound of the Das III the best, but as I mentioned earlier I would typo like crazy on it, presumably because of the issue that's been well documented on here.  I think I liked the Scorpius M10, but the spacebar started sticking after 2 days, and the right Windows key never worked.  I'm waiting on a replacement which hopefully won't have any issues.

I don't think there's an easy answer, but maybe this will spur some interesting discussion.  What keyboard would you recommend to someone who likes the sound of the Cherry blues in the Das III, but the feel of the Steelseries 7G / ABS M1?

And as an interesting aside, I've found that the ABS M1 suffers from the same n-key rollover issue as the Das III (if you press ASDF simultaneously, it'll always register as ASDF), but it doesn't seem to cuase the same transposition typos as the Das III.  Did anyone every really get to the bottom of that issue and receive an official response from Metadot?