Author Topic: Advice needed...  (Read 3971 times)

Offline drgnfang

Advice needed...
« on: Tue, 03 March 2009, 12:01:35 »
So I'm a total newb on the mechanical switch keyboards so take that into consideration...

I recently purchased some Dell AT101w's off ebay (3 to be precise, I want to try modding the keys), and for the most part I'm satisfied. I had used one of these before, so I knew pretty much was I was getting into. The issue is that the board doesn't quite satisfy me. There are issues with key's being activated without fully bottoming out (I notice this most when "hovering" over CTRL+TAB and CTRL+F4). The tinnie/hollow sound is kinda annoying, specifically with the space bar.

So, I am now looking for my next keyboard.

I was considering the DAS 3, but the issues with the N-Rollover are keeping me away from it. It's just to damn expensive for those types of problems.

Currently I'm looking at the ABS M1. Based on the reviews here it seems like a good starting point for me, but I figured I would ask and see if something better would be suggested.

Usage: Lots of code, and lots of text written every day. I spend (on average) 12-14 hours a day at my computer.

Requirements: 10-key. Feels better than the dell. Not significantly bigger than the dell. Under $150 shipped. NIB.

Noise: I don't really care how loud/quiet it is, this is my home office so I won't be disturbing anyone else.

Switch type: Seriously, I don't know enough or have enough experience for this to matter to me. If enough people say it is good I'm willing to give it a shot.

I do predict that I will go through at least 2-3 more keyboards before I find what works for me.

Offline bhtooefr

• this switch can tick sound of music
    • bhtooefr.org
Advice needed...
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 03 March 2009, 12:08:02 »
If you want a keyboard that won't activate unless you're fully bottoming it out, you need a rubber dome or something.

If you rest your fingers on a key, don't depress it at all.