Author Topic: Few Issues (websites + mac related).  (Read 1504 times)

Offline Fragil1ty

• Abre los ojos.
Few Issues (websites + mac related).
« on: Wed, 12 February 2014, 19:24:24 »
So the more important one really, I'm a web developer/designer and work for a small photographic company and I've made them a website, yada yada yada.

Long story short, I come home yesterday from work and during work the website I work on was accessible etc and when I got home, I was testing out changes that I had made and for some weird reason the website is not accessible and every time I try to access it, it just times me out.

I can use cmd to ping to it fine and get a quick/timely response, but I can't actually load up the website. I've tried everything apart from resetting the router? any ideas?

-----------

As for the Mac issue, I'm updated the latest O/S (Mavericks) and installed all of the latest patches/updates and whatever.
I've got a late-2013 MBP and for some weird reason, even when I don't seem to be having a lot of applications running, it seems to lagg and be a bit sluggish, like for example if I were to open a few apps such as:

Safari, Mail, Sublime, Textedit and perhaps Photoshop it would start to lagg, which I thought was odd as it shouldn't be using up that much space, so I thought I'd check the activity monitor etc and to cut a long story short, the amount of memory that was been used was barely past 2GB it was around 2.1-2.3gb of total usage.

I read up and found out that it 'may be' because of the way Mavericks handles memory now, but it's just annoying.

So short of me buying 8GB of RAM for this machine, is there anything I can do?

Thanks for any replies that come my way.
« Last Edit: Wed, 12 February 2014, 19:26:56 by Fragil1ty »
你搞砸了

Offline heedpantsnow

• * Esteemed Elder
  • Old enough to know better
Re: Few Issues (websites + mac related).
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 12 February 2014, 19:40:06 »