Author Topic: Which feature should I compromise on for my next keyboard?  (Read 2075 times)

Offline TheHeartographer

• The Heartographer (online dating advice)
Which feature should I compromise on for my next keyboard?
« on: Mon, 24 February 2014, 20:52:44 »
Hey all, I'm new to Geekhack but not all that new to keyboard obsession. I'm hoping y'all can help me with indecision paralysis.

I have ridiculously severe tennis elbow in both arms, which has meant that I have to heavily customize any workstation I use. Now that I run my own business it's much easier, but it's still not quite perfect—my next home office purchase is going to be a keyboard or two. But I can't find a single product that meets every one of my desired features! Can you?

I want a keyboard that has the following traits, in descending order of urgency:

-Mac compatible. Doesn't have to be reprogrammable/Mac layout, but I prefer it.
-Ergonomically curved, ideally split, super-ideally detached, and extra-ideally tented. (Stay with me!  :D)
-Tenkeyless. To alleviate the tennis elbow I mouse both left and right; even my custom extra-wide keyboard tray can only accommodate so much. I almost never use NumPad features anyway.
-Mechanical switches; not for gaming but just for hardcore typing all day every day. No ghosting allowed. I think I want Cherry Brown MXes, or possibly the Matias quiet ones, but I'm open to switch opinions too.
-Normal-ish layout. I've been typing on QWERTY since I was nine, and I also type in multiple languages which is pretty easy to do mentally with this standard layout. I'd rather not have to learn DVORAK or something crazy, and I also use my plain old MacBook keyboard often enough to not want to have to convert mentally. This is why I'm skittish about the Truly Ergonomic.