Author Topic: The effect of PBT caps on MX blues?  (Read 5709 times)

Offline Razor88

The effect of PBT caps on MX blues?
« on: Tue, 08 April 2014, 16:47:35 »
Hey guys

I have a Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid with mx blues, and I'm wondering how thick (or non-thick) pbt caps will effect the sound it makes? Does anyone want to shed some light on this? I heard it makes the clicks less sharp? If this is the case it would definitely pique my interest.

Offline Sifo

• Illustrious
Re: The effect of PBT caps on MX blues?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 08 April 2014, 17:14:25 »
Thick PBT will make it less sharp and give it a deeper sound, thin PBT will still have the same pitch as with ABS but a little quieter. However with the thick PBT the trade off is that when you bottom out the clack will be louder.
I love Elzy

Offline Linkbane

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 08 April 2014, 17:32:53 »
With thin or medium-thick PBT, there's not much of a change of feeling or sound, but I have to say that for me, thick PBT really doesn't go well with Blues; it muffles the click's feeling while not altering the noise, and makes it seem really heavy.
Quickfire TK MX Blue Corsair K60 MX Red Ducky Shine 3 Yellow TKL MX Blue Leopold FC660C
Current best: 162 wpm.

Offline Razor88

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 08 April 2014, 17:41:07 »
Hmmm I was hoping to get something to lower the pitch of the clicks slightly. But if it makes bottoming out louder its a no go ( my brother bottoms out all the time)

Offline Sifo

• Illustrious
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 08 April 2014, 17:46:23 »
Hmmm I was hoping to get something to lower the pitch of the clicks slightly. But if it makes bottoming out louder its a no go ( my brother bottoms out all the time)

You might wanna try thin PBT then, should help out a little.
I love Elzy

Offline False_Dmitry_II

« Reply #5 on: Tue, 08 April 2014, 18:15:28 »