Author Topic: Another Unicomp (BOSCOM) 122  (Read 19892 times)

Offline Shawn Stanford

Another Unicomp (BOSCOM) 122
« on: Wed, 27 May 2009, 07:14:36 »
Just got it a couple days ago to replace the Model M on my desk at work. Since I'm an old COBOL programmer working in a mainframe shop, my geek cred went pretty much through the roof when I showed off this Bad Boy. Ha ha!

That being said, the cursor and paging keys are in a different layout from the Model M, which is causing me some confusion (I'm a touch typist). I'd like to at least redefine the paging keys, but I don't think it's going to be possible; since the keyboard actually sends signals that mimic other keys. For instance, pressing the dedicated Backtab key sends a Shift, then a Tab to the PC. Frustrating!

The Model M keycaps are a direct swap, but does anyone know if the keycaps from the similarly laid-out 3270 keyboards will swap onto this keyboard?
The Brat Prince of COBOL

Offline bigpook

« Reply #1 on: Wed, 27 May 2009, 08:10:24 »
pics?
HHKB Pro 2 : Unicomp Spacesaver : IBM Model M : DasIII    

Offline Shawn Stanford

Here's a quickie...
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 27 May 2009, 08:34:51 »
The Brat Prince of COBOL

Offline o2dazone

« Reply #3 on: Wed, 27 May 2009, 08:43:53 »
v retro, I am loving the beige keys above the arrows

Offline Shawn Stanford

« Reply #4 on: Wed, 27 May 2009, 09:10:10 »
Quote from: o2dazone;92901
v retro, I am loving the beige keys above the arrows

The 'Delete' key was missing when I got the board, so I replaced the entire block with the appropriate keycaps from a dead Model M.
The Brat Prince of COBOL

Offline iMav

• geekhack creator/founder
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
« Reply #5 on: Wed, 27 May 2009, 09:12:33 »
Quote from: Shawn Stanford;92908
The 'Delete' key was missing when I got the board, so I replaced the entire block with the appropriate keycaps from a dead Model M.
Make sure you get Unicomp to send you a replacement Del key.

Welcome to geekhack!