Author Topic: Greetings  (Read 2875 times)

Offline redpandasocks

Greetings
« on: Wed, 03 September 2014, 18:20:53 »
Just your average human type creature.  I game a lot (mostly MMOs), I also read a lot (sci-fi/fantasy), and I'm studying LIS for special collections.  All in all I'm on the computer for work and play.  I am about to make my first purchase for a new mechanical keyboard since I haven't ever used one before (other than briefly typing on friends').  Though I do have fond memories of IBM keyboards from when I was a kid.  But unfortunately I find myself wanting to buy all of the boards.  Hopefully I'll be able to make a decision by my next paycheck :D.  I'm for some reason intrigued by the tkl and the 60% keyboards and I don't really know why.  Their form factor just draws my eye I guess.

Anyway that's a bit about me.  Hello to everyone on the forums and I hope to continue to lurk around to help make my decision.

Offline Sent

• Simplistic Serenity
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Re: Greetings
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 03 September 2014, 18:31:46 »
You're intrigued because 60% boards are superior.  Welcome to the site.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 03 September 2014, 18:52:48 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

If you like the old Model M and you like TKL, why not SSK? :)
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada