Author Topic: teensy 2.0 or 3.1  (Read 4925 times)

Offline Bailey

teensy 2.0 or 3.1
« on: Sun, 28 September 2014, 20:51:23 »
Hi,

I'm new to keyboard building. I have done some research and have noticed only teensy 2.0 is used as a keyboard micro controller. Is there is a reason why the 3.1 version is not used? too many I/Os? or is it more of firmware related issue?

Bailey

Offline jdcarpe

• * Curator
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: teensy 2.0 or 3.1
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 28 September 2014, 21:12:43 »
It's a firmware issue. The 3.1 uses an ARM processor, and I'm not aware of any existing firmwares for it. The 2.0 uses the ATmega32u processor, for which you have Soarer's firmware, TMK, etc.
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info

in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline Bailey

« Reply #2 on: Sun, 28 September 2014, 21:22:24 »
Thanks,

So essentially if I am to build a 10 keyless keyboard I should go with the Teensy 2.0, while for a standard keyboard layout, I will need to go with the Teensy 2.0++?

Offline 0100010

• Not Sure
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 28 September 2014, 21:27:15 »
Only need the 2.0++ if you have a very large matrix or you need lots of additional pins for other functions.  For most keyboards, the 2.0 is plenty.
  Quoting me causes a posting error that you need to ignore.

Offline Bailey

« Reply #4 on: Sun, 28 September 2014, 21:33:57 »
I see, well the idea is to replace the Micro controller on my Ducky2108LS (essentially a Ducky Zero with LEDs on every key) and since it has 108 keys it looks like I will need to use the Teensy 2.0++.

Another question I have, how many I/O do I have leave spare if I am to have full keyboard LED (all light up at the same time, nothing fancy)?

Offline Melvang

• Exquisite Lord of Bumfluff
  • * Maker
  • Melvang's Desktop Customs