Author Topic: Backlight + keycap?  (Read 2485 times)

Offline Keyboardnoobb

Backlight + keycap?
« on: Fri, 17 October 2014, 21:32:51 »
Hello everyone. I'm a noob here, and I am debating between two keyboards for my first mechanical keyboard. My debate is between the cm storm rapid-i and ducky shine 3. I prefer the fact that the shine 3 has a blue backlight, but it doesn't have that "Active light" tech which basically lights up the whole keyboard and not just the keys.

The reason for my concern is that I'm want to get custom key caps, but there is one possible positive. The main key caps I'm wanting are the "stealth" key caps or "side printed key caps." my question is whether anyone knows if the lighting from the ducky will shine through the letters on the side printed key caps? If not, will I be able to see the backlight at all with the shine or should I just go ahead and get the rapid-i?

PS I don't really want see through key caps.

Thank you so much for any suggestions.

Offline Melvang

• Exquisite Lord of Bumfluff
  • * Maker
  • Melvang's Desktop Customs
Re: Backlight + keycap?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 17 October 2014, 22:14:10 »
I can't personally recall anyone that has made side printed "backlight compatible" caps.  Though the biggest factor on if the legend illuminates is if the LED is above or below the switch.  If it is above then probably won't work that well.  Below it should work great. 

Though "backlight compatible" caps are generally inferior quality due to the coating to prevent the backlight from showing where you don't want it to tends to flake off after a while.  Though I believe Vortex makes pbt double shot backlight caps but those legends are on the top.  I can't recall any double shot legends in a side print as well.
OG Kishsaver, Razer Orbweaver clears and reds with blue LEDs, and Razer Naga Epic.   "Great minds crawl in the same sewer"  Uncle Rich

Offline Blaise170

• * Esteemed Elder
  • ALPS キーボード
    • XYZ