Author Topic: HHKB Pro 2 - Del & Ctrl+Del  (Read 4928 times)

Offline Hordak

HHKB Pro 2 - Del & Ctrl+Del
« on: Sat, 18 October 2014, 14:19:07 »
So I'm currently contemplating over whether to get the HHKB Pro 2. I'm a programmer, soI have to use a lot of keyboard shortcuts in my job, like:
  • Single Fn keys
  • Ctrl+Alt + F1-F8
  • Ctrl+BS
  • Ctrl+Shift + Arrow
  • Del
  • Ctrl+Del
  • Ctrl+Shift+Alt + S
  • Shift+PgUp/PgDn
Now I think most of these will be fine to type on the HHKB Pro 2, since after all, it is a "hacking" keyboard, but I'm a bit worried about the Delete key. Del and Ctrl+Del is pretty much my bread & butter. Will I have a problem with these, or do I worry over nothing?

A secondary question: it's not really worth it to shove out another 90€ for the Type-S version, right?

« Last Edit: Sat, 18 October 2014, 14:21:51 by hordak »

Offline Premonition

• HHKB Elite
Re: HHKB Pro 2 - Del & Ctrl+Del
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 18 October 2014, 14:28:37 »
I think if you're going to get the HHKB, might as well get Type-S because it's actually different. I personally can't do ctrl/alt/f keys, since you have to reach for four separate keys and spider your hand around the board, and you will have a problem with delete or backspace, depending on which you set the key to. Perhaps you might find better use of a TKL (RF 87/88) or FC660C layout.

Offline nubbinator

• Dabbler Supreme
  • * Maker
  • Model M "connoisseur"
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 18 October 2014, 14:29:18 »
If you don't need backspace, you'll be fine. The Delete key is pretty easy to get used to.

And, IMO, the Type-S feels tighter than the standard version.  The tolerances may be a little tighter or something since it feels like there's a little less wobble and it just is a little nicer to type on.  Now if it's worth $100 more, that's up to how much money is worth to you.

Offline Premonition

• HHKB Elite
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 18 October 2014, 14:37:36 »
that's up to how much money is worth to you.